The Road to Walden North

In The Road to Walden North, Vermont novelist Sheila Post has written an elegiac tribute to the spirit of Thoreau—a timely ‘Walden revisited.’ Resplendent and richly nuanced, the story chronicles the desperate and deliberate lives among four individuals whose worlds converge on the Harvard University campus: Heather Channing, a back-to-the-lander student adrift in the elite world of Harvard; William Channing, a self-proclaimed disciple of Thoreau, living in cultural exile in the north woods of Vermont; Blake Prentiss, a Boston Brahmin with multi-generational family ties to Harvard, and Dr. Kate Brown, a newly-hired assistant professor, whose life revolves around her academic work—until forced to grapple with the themes she teaches in her course on Walden. A luminous tapestry of dreams lost and places found, The Road to Walden North will continue to ‘rewild’ the inner lives of its readers, long after arriving in Walden North.


Early Praise for The Road to Walden North

An entertaining, literary ride through the tamed halls of academia to the wilds of a Walden of the north. Delivered with a compelling smorgasbord of literary tidbits along the way.”—John Mitchell, author of Walking towards Walden: A Pilgrimage in Search of Place

Sheila Post’s fascinating and original The Road to Walden North is written in the tradition of Wendell Berry’s Jayber Crow and Annie Dillard’s Pilgrim at Tinker Creek.” —Howard Frank Mosher, author of Where the Rivers Flow North

I was especially struck by the chapters in which the language of Walden wove through Sheila Post’s vivid descriptions of northern New England in deep winter.” —John Elder, author of Reading the Mountains of Home


About the Author

SilePostAuthorPhotoSheila Post, Ph.D., a former college professor, taught American literature & nature writing for over a decade in New England before deciding to write her own. A prolific academic author, she now writes spirit-of-place novels and green women’s fiction (as Síle Post). Sheila resides in Vermont, overlooking the forested mountains of her own Walden North.


The Road to Walden North   A novel by Sheila Post
PUB DATE: May 1, 2016
6 x 9; hardcover; 332 pages; $24.95 & e-Book
ISBN: 978-0-9961357-6-4 (hardcover with dust jacket)
Author available for readings throughout New England.
Distributed by Midpoint Trade Books, Ingram’s,Baker & Taylor. Available wherever books are sold.